Poetry: Breathe

So it’s been a long time since I’ve written anything here, but that’s what happens when life gets in the way. I had to deal with the sudden passing of one of my grandparents….which led to life just taking over and the beginning of studies again. Here’s a slice of poetry – attempting to describe all that I’ve been feeling.

Title: Breathe

Bring me far away from reality
Nightmares I don’t want to dream
Shadows creeping ’round the heart
Gripping like a vice, making me jump-start

I don’t want this fear to be around
Cause it’s making me paranoid ’bout all sounds
Restlessness relentlessly overwhelms
I can’t escape – it’s like I’m in some kind of Hell

I try my best to seek more dreams
To avoid the pain and suffering
But these four walls are closing in on me
And I can’t bring myself to breathe.

Leave a Reply

